CTN-0008: Assessment of the National Drug Abuse Clinical Trials Network: A Baseline for Investigating Diffusion of Innovation

Dennis McCarty, PhD
Lead Investigator
Department of Public Health and Preventive Medicine
Oregon Health and Science University

The “Baseline Study” is designed to help us better understand the community treatment programs participating in the NIDA Clinical Trials Network (CTN). Using a series of surveys, the study will be used to:

  • Describe the programs and practitioners delivering drug abuse treatment services within the CTN.
  • Build a system that can track changes in program and staff characteristics.
  • Allow treatment program managers to compare their program to others — both within the CTN and nationwide.
  • Promote studies of organizational change and the characteristics that predict whether research-based treatment strategies will become part of usual treatment in a program.

Primary Findings

The surveys describe 106 corporations (95% response rate) providing drug abuse treatment in 348 treatment units (91% response rate).  Most treatment units are not-for-profit and are not affiliated with health care or mental health care organizations and tend to be larger than the modal drug abuse treatment program.  In the CTN, hospital-based services are over-represented and programs based in mental health centers are under-represented.  The treatment units serve a heterogeneous patient population, and the inpatient, residential, methadone, and outpatient levels of care vary in the services provided.

Primary Outcomes Article: McCarty D, et al. Treatment programs in the National Drug Abuse Treatment Clinical Trials Network. Drug and Alcohol Dependence 2008;92:200-207. [get article]

    Node Involvement

    Lead Node(s):

  • Oregon/Hawaii Node

  • All Participating Nodes:

  • California/Arizona Node
  • Delaware Valley Node
  • Great Lakes Regional Node
  • Long Island Node
  • Mid-Atlantic Node
  • New England Node
  • New York Node
  • North Carolina Node
  • Northern New England Node
  • Ohio Valley Node
  • Oregon/Hawaii Node
  • Pacific Northwest Node
  • Pacific Region Node
  • Rocky Mountain Regional Node
  • Southern Consortium Node